Search This Blog

Thursday, May 24, 2012

What is Muslim dietary practice and what are forbidden foods?

Muslim dietary practice is fundamentally about obeying God. All practising Muslim believers obey God Almighty by eating the allowed foods (halal) and avoiding the forbidden foods (haram) which are mentioned in the Qur’an and in the sayings of the final prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him). In Islam several animals are considered unclean and their consumption is forbidden (haraam), except in case of necessity; while others are permitted (halaal), as long as they are slaughtered in the proper manner and with blessings given to God.
'Halal' means lawful or allowed. Halal with regards to food and drink means that it is permitted for Muslims under the Islamic Law (Shari'ah). Halal food and drink does not consist of anything which is deemed unlawful.

'Haraam' means unlawful or forbidden. Haraam with regards to food and drink means that it is not permitted for Muslims under the Islamic Law (Shari'ah). It is considered a sin for a muslim to knowingly consume haraam food.


Forbidden Foods
  • Pork, lard or any porcine substance
  • Gelatine from animal source which is not halal
  • Meat that is not slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way.  Muslims must pronounce the name of Allah on all animals while slaughtering.
  • Meat coming from a lawful animal which died before slaughter
  • Blood (direct or indirect)
  • Any food or drink with alcohol in it (all intoxicant and hazardous drinks)
  • Any human substance or part
  • All carnivorous animals and birds of prey
  • Some non halal additives (E numbers like E120, E441, E542 etc) 
Useful links:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts